Driving Safety Course
A defendant charged with a moving traffic violation under the state law may be eligible to take a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course in order to have a citation dismissed and not appear on the permanent driving record. If a citation is dismissed under this provision, it will not appear as a conviction on the driving record and according to state law, should not affect insurance premiums.
In order to take a driving safety course, a defendant must first have permission of the court to do so. To determine eligibility, a driving safety course must not have been taken 12 months prior to the date of the citation. It is the defendant's responsibility to determine if he is eligible to take a course. If eligibility is determined, he must:
- Enter a plea of no contest or guilty
- Pay applicable state court costs and administrative fees
- Present a valid Texas driver's license
- Present valid insurance with the defendant's name on the policy
Offenses Not Covered
Not all offenses under the Texas Transportation Code are subject to dismissal upon completion of a driving safety course. A driver will not be eligible to have a charge dismissed by completing a driving safety course if:
- If you are charged with failing to stop and render aid
- The alleged moving violation has occurred in a construction zone with workers present
- The alleged speed is 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
- The alleged violation is passing a school bus while loading or unloading students
- The driver holds a commercial driver's license
Defendants 16 years of age or younger must make a formal court appearance in front of a judge with a parent or legal guardian in order to request permission to take a driving safety course.
Persons, other than juveniles, may make arrangements to take a driving safety course between the hours of 8:15 a.m. - 4:45 p.m., Monday - Friday, before the scheduled court date. If the request is not made by the court date, a person may lose his option to take the course.
Requesting Permission by Mail
Permission to take a driving safety course may also be requested by mail. To complete the request by mail, send the following:
- A copy of valid Texas driver's license
- A copy of an insurance card with defendant's name on policy
- Signed and notarized affidavit (see below)
- Applicable state court costs and administrative fees for citations received PRIOR to January 1, 2020: (affidavit)
- $134 for offenses not committed in a school zone, or
- $159 for offenses committed in a school zone
- Applicable state court costs and administrative fees for citations received ON/AFTER January 1, 2020: (affidavit)
- $144 for offenses not committed in a school zone, or
- $169 for offenses committed in a school zone
Do not purchase your driving record before requesting the driving safety course from the court.
The approval, receipt, application for a driving record, deadline for taking the course, and submitted documents will be returned to the address on the citation. The original certificate of completion and driving record must be returned to the court by the completion date assigned to you by the court, or you must pay the remaining fine which will result in a conviction on your driving record. Failure to comply shall result in a warrant being issued for your arrest, which will include a $50 warrant fee.
Note: The municipal court does not answer any legal questions of any nature. The personnel are allowed to explain court proceedings and procedures only. If you need legal advice, please contact an attorney.